After being one month in the USA, I faced the next big change: moving into a permanent apartment. I really liked the temporary apartment in Downtown, Lake/Wells Street on 42nd floor but I also really looked forward to moving into the new apartment.

Downtown Chicago is exciting but overall very noisy. Constantly rushing trains, sirens day and night and this continous big city humming. Do you know it? I noticed it for the first time in New York City. You can hear it in Berlin, too, although not everywhere. And in Chicago’s center it accompanied me, too.

img_0747
Bye, bye skyscrapers!

My new apartment is in the so-called Roscoe Village. The “village within the city”. Sounds like Prenzlauer Berg, right? Indeed, it’s very similar. It seems I am attracted to that kind of neighborhoods… I was born in a small town in Lower-Saxony. After finishing school I felt the urge to move to a bigger city. Brühl, Wiesbaden, Freiburg, Wiesbaden, Berlin – and now Chicago. The cities have become bigger. Somehow, I always ended up in neighborhoods that have a village-like character with small stores, extraordinary cafés and parks. Maybe my small-city-soul needs a restricted terrain? Luckily, it can be found in big cities, too.
Here in Roscoe Village it is really relaxed for sure. Wide sidewalks, lots of people with children, nice cafés, two coffee roasteries directly around the corner, restaurants, a wine shop, a bike shop, a book shop… what do I need else?!

print

Nach einem Monat in den USA habe ich Anfang November die nächste große Veränderung bewältigt: Den Umzug in die permanente Wohnung. Die Übergangswohnung in Downtown, Lake/Wells Street, 42. Stock, gefiel mir wirklich sehr gut, aber ich habe mich jetzt auch auf die neue Wohnung gefreut.

Downtown ist spannend, aber vor allem auch sehr laut. Ständig quietschten und rumpelten die Züge unter mir lang, Tag und Nacht waren immer wieder Sirenen zu hören und dieses kontinuierliche Großstadtbrummen. Kennt ihr das? Mir ist es zum ersten Mal in New York City aufgefallen. In Berlin ist es auch zu hören, wenn auch nicht überall. Und in der Mitte von Chicago hat es mich auch begleitet.

img_0747
Bye, bye Wolkenkratzer!

Meine neue Wohnung liegt im sogenannten Roscoe Village. Dem “Dorf in der Stadt”. Klingt nach Prenzlauer Berg, oder? Ist auch so ähnlich. Mich scheint so was anzuziehen. Gebürtig komme ich aus einer niedersächsischen Kleinstadt. Nach dem Abitur hatte ich das Bedürfnis, sofort in eine größere Stadt zu ziehen. Brühl, Wiesbaden, Freiburg, Wiesbaden, Berlin – und nun Chicago. Die Städte sind größer geworden. Aber irgendwie bin ich immer in Vierteln mit kleinen Läden, außergewöhnlichen Cafés und Parks gelandet, die einen dörflichen Charakter haben.  Vielleicht braucht meine Kleinstadtseele doch ein beschränkteres Terrain? Glücklicherweise lässt sich das auch in Großstädten finden.
Auf jeden Fall ist es hier in Roscoe Village sehr entspannt. Breite Gehwege, viele Leute mit Kindern, nette Cafés, zwei Kaffeeröstereien in unmittelbarer Nähe, Restaurants, ein Weinladen, ein Buchladen… was will ich mehr?!

print